TST celebrations JPEG [1210x681]
TST celebrations JPEG [1210x681] (Credit: The Soccer Tournament)

McLaren boss I never doubted Norris over orders

The US Women team led by Ali Krieger and Heather O'Reilly beat the North Carolina Courage 6-3 to win the inaugural women's event at The Soccer Tournament (TST) and claim the $1 million prize.

The 7 vs. 7, winner-take-all event concluded Monday in Cary, North Carolina, with Talia Dellaperuta scoring the clinching goal to spark wild celebrations.

As well as Krieger and O'Reilly, the team included other former United States women's national team stars such as Lori Lindsey, Allie Long and Lori Lawson. Carla Overbeck, Carli Lloyd, Michelle Akers and Mia Hamm were all involved as coaches with the squad.

"Every single person, staff, players -- we deserve it. One million dollars!" O'Reilly said in a team huddle after the victory.

The winnings were split equally among the 25-strong group, with each member earning $40,000.

The US Women were beaten in their opening game of the group stage by Streetball FC Canada but won all of their remaining matches en route to the title.

The men's competition was won by La Bombonera, who beat Nani FC (captained by the former Manchester United winger) 4-0 in the final.

TST will return at the end of May 2025 for its next edition.